About the awards

The Family Day Care Australia Excellence in Family Day Care Awards are the only national awards dedicated entirely to the family day care sector. We invite families and educators to tell us in their own words, what makes their educator or approved service such an integral and special contributor to their lives and to the lives of the children in their care.

New format

This year will see the awards take on a slightly new format from previous years. The new format will see a departure from the state and territory based awards of the past with these awards replaced with four national finalists in each of the educator and service categories.

One national finalist will be selected from the following zones:

  • NT/QLD
  • SA/WA

As per previous years, the educator awards will continue to recognise regional winners from across the country and it will be from these regional winners that the national finalists will be selected, while service awards will not contain a regional component.

How does it work?

During the nomination period we invite families and educators to nominate their family day care educator or approved service via a simple online nomination form. You can notify your parents and educators by cutting out the nomination slips contained in the winter edition of JiGSAW Magazine or directing them to this site.

Nominees will be advised of their nomination via email, with a weekly nomination list also published on this site. Nominees will then be invited to make a supporting submission, which is done online and should address some simple criteria.

Throughout the judging period, the selection committee will review nominations and supporting submissions, and will select regional (for educators only), national finalists and national winners.

The selection committee will also select winners in the ‘Star Awards’ category.

Key Dates

Nominations are now closed

  23 July 2017
Submissions are now closed

  6 August 2017
Regional educator winners announced

  28 August 2017
Star winners announced

  11 September 2017
National finalists announced

  25 September 2017
National winners announced

  28 October 2017